top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOyaji KrazyCranker

Your Rod, Line, and Hooks Must Work Together

Updated: May 24, 2020

Growing up, I used to read fishing magazines and would often buy the gear that my favorite pros were using. Whether it was hooks, line, the reel, or the rod, whatever I saw in the pictures, I would look for at sporting goods stores; looking back, I remember K-Mart having lots of tackle, but I digress. Back then, my thinking was, "If the pros use it to catch more fish, it should do the same for me." Through years of experience, I slowly began to realize that doing things such as switching out stock hooks to bigger hooks could actually lower your chances of catching fish if that's the only thing you change. I briefly mentioned it on my blog about downsizing hooks, but I want to get into more detail about how important is is to match your setup to your style of fishing.


Many pros swap out their stock hooks to bigger, beefier hooks and claim that they get better hooksets and lose less fish. It's true...kind of. What is often left out is that they match their hook size with the proper line, rod, and reel; it's all the pieces of the perfectly matched setup that creates better hook sets, and thus increasing their chance for success. In general, the bigger or heavier gauge wire hook you use, you need to match that with heavier line or a type of line with little to no stretch and a stouter rod to drive the hook past the barb in a fish's mouth or jaw when setting the hook. Another way to look at it is to think of a basic fly fishing set up vs. a basic flipping/pitching set up--they're completely on the opposite ends of the spectrum, but they both get the job done well. And, while there is a general rule that most anglers agree on regarding setups, my advice is whatever combination of gear you use, make sure that it makes sense in your mind and gives you confidence.


If you're new to fishing, below is some general advice when fishing for bass in small ponds:


Rods:

  • Power: Depending on the lure size, most of the time I use ultra-light to medium powered rods; medium-heavy when throwing swimbaits or large baits (up to 2 oz).

  • Action: When using lures with trebles, most of the time I prefer medium to slow action rods. When throwing jigs or worms, I use a fast action rod.

  • Material: For lures with trebles, I prefer glass or a composite rod for their forgiveness; that is, it's harder for a fish to shake off your lure with trebles with a softer rod. For single hook baits (worms, jigs), you can't beat the sensitivity, feel, and the instant hooksetting power of a quality carbon fiber rod.

  • BUT...there is ALWAYS an exception to the rule depending on the situation, so don't be afraid to experiment and use the rod that gives you the most confidence. For example, I used to use my old Team Daiwa green handle cranking rod for almost everything because of the confidence factor associated with knowing exactly how the rod would react in almost every situation.

Reel speed (gear ratio):

  • For the most part, in pond fishing, it's all about personal preference. It all depends on your fishing style.

  • Flipping, pitching, punching: Faster the better. You need to get rid of slack in your line to pull the fish away from cover as quickly as possible.

  • Moving baits: Smaller the bait, slower the gear ratio. Smaller baits tend to spin out if reeled in too fast.

Line:

  • General rule: Higher the fishing pressure, the thinner the line.

    • On my baitcasters: 15lb braid (paired with a UL-ML powered rod), or 8lb mono (M-MH powered rod). Whether it is in my line or rod, I prefer a little "shock absorption."

    • Spinning: 4lb mono

Hooks

  • Since I don't use heavy gear when fishing for bass in small ponds, I tend to downsize my treble hooks on smaller lures, or just sharpen the stock hooks to a sticky-sharp needle point with a file or a Dremel.

  • I actually like soft trebles that bend out so I don't lose expensive lures when I get snagged or run into a huge carp or catfish. It's very rare to have a pond bass totally bend out a hook and get away.

In closing, when changing out hooks, trying new lures, selecting line, etc., think about how all the pieces fit together in your system and approach to fishing.


OKC


43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page